Sweet Potato & Asparagus Quiche

quiche

I’ve been craving this quiche that a friend had made for my Christmas party this past year. It was full of veggies and it this had a wonderfully flaky homemade crust. . . but, and there is a but here, there were eggs in it 😦 , and we know that eggs are a no-go. So ‘if there was a problem (eggs!) yo I’ll solve, check out this eggless quiche as the cashew resolve it’! Corny I know but I had to do it!! Right, back to the recipe, I had to veganize it and make it  healthier than its original vegetarian version. I’ve played around with vegan quiches before – tofu base, bean base, etc, but none were really able to hit that sweet spot. . . until I was struck with the great idea of tofu AND cashews! And the cashews did the trick, they really deliver as promised, making it  creamy and silky. The tofu adds in some extra protein and also helps balance the heartiness of the cashews, making it a little lighter. Now to the veggies: sweet potato and asparagus. I know the combination might not sound convincing but trust me, and the 6 other people that ate it and loved it, the sweetness of the potato and the crunchiness of the asparagus are a match made in heaven!  But there is one ‘but’ on my end of the healthy deal – I didn’t go all out like my friend and make the crust myself, and I can explain, really, I honestly just don’t have time with a hungry 1 1/2 year old and a husband-boy to feed, so I opted for a store bought crust. Regardless of wether you decide to make the crust or just buy, I assure you that this will be a hit! In fact, my son loved this so much he was licking his fingers, my husband ate almost half of it while my friend nearly polished it off, and meanwhile my in-laws still don’t believe me that there are not eggs in it! So I guess I can say without a doubt that this was a home run in my house and that it will for sure be a repeat in this house! I hope it becomes one in your house too!

quiche 2

Sweet Potato & Asparagus Quiche

Ingredients

2 store bought pastry crusts

6 oz tofu

1 c. cashews

1 tsp Old Bay spice

1/2 stock cube

1 1/2 Tbs nutritional yeast

1 tsp turmeric

3/4 c. water

1 c. diced sweet potatoes

1 c. chopped asparagus

1/2 medium onion

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 300.

2. Soak the cashews in hot water for at least 30 minutes. In the mean time chop up your veggies.

3. Blend the cashews, tofu, old bay, stock cube, nutritional yeast, turmeric and water together until you have a creamy consistency.

4. Mix the cream with the veggies.

5. Put the base in the pie pan and pop the cream and veggie mixture in. Now cover it with the other pie crust. Don’t forget to poke holes on the top. Cover with foil for the first 25-30 mintes of baking continue baking for another 15-20 minutes (total time of about 45-50 minutes).

Enjoy!

Buon appetito!

AS

Leave a Reply

