Mediterranean Wrap

wrap

This post is dedicated to my friend Keeley, who recently became vegan. I am so proud of her –  she has been working really hard and is doing an awesome job. She has inspired me with her new found dedication to wellness that she kicked off with a week and half juice fast. I have dedicated this post to her because, aside from the fact that she is my best friend in the world, despite the distance, she is always lovingly honest with me and told me that I should make this more personal, and I think she is 100% right. I have been wanting to make it more personal but have felt a little lost at times on how to do this and also because I have so little time and I love posting so I often just write the essentials and leave out the lovin’. So, thanks to Keeley, I am now going to make it a point to share a bit more about me and not just my recipes, because really, the food is just a part of who I am, but I want my readers to get to know the other sides of me, the mom, wife, friend, spiritual-seeking hippie that I am. Now that sharing time is over and I’ve done my part, let’s get down to business and get on with this recipe!

I am loving wraps right now, they are fast to make, and summery when stuffed with lots of fresh ingredients and are so versatile – they are like a mini vacation, just add whatever exotic flavors you like and you are off to wherever it is that you want to go. For this recipe if you are craving a sun soaked Mediterreanean vacation and a bite of this seaside slice of heaven and its fresh flavors then I have one amazing wrap for you! This is layer after layer of healthy and fresh goodness. I absolutely love hummus so I started it off by smearing on a healthy dose of it, as always :). I then added on some oven-baked eggplant, and next up some meaty slices of steamed portobello mushrooms, and then to give it a bit of freshness, some sliced tomatoes, spring onions and greens. . .  and of course some fresh chilis (optional). Smush it all together and roll it up and there you have it, a bite of the Mediterranean!

 

collagemed

 

Ingredients

Yield: 2-3 wraps

1/2 eggplant

2 portobello mushrooms

1 Tbs sesame oil

2 cloves garlic

1 Tbs soy sauce

Hummus

Tomato slices

Spring onion or sweet red onion slices

Fresh greens

Directions:

1. Cut the eggplant in half and score it. Drizzle some olive oil on it and sprinkle a bit of salt on it. Bake in the oven until almost mushy- put it on the top rack for the last five minutes of baking.

2. Roughly cut the garlic and add it to a hot sauce pan with sesame oil and the mushrooms. Add a bit of water and cover. Towards the end of cooking, the last few minutes, add in the soy sauce. The longer you cook them for the more silky and soft they get, I personally think they are wonderful this way, at least in this recipe.

3. Assemble your wrap: spread the hummus over your favorite tortilla, cut the eggplant up roughly and add it on, add on the sliced portobello mushroom and finally top it off with tomatoes, spring onions and greens.

 

Enjoy!

Buon Appetito!

AS

Leave a Reply

