Breakfast Parfaits 2 Ways: Classic Berry & Pumpkin Spice

PicsArt_1371206842526
I know we’re talking about parfaits here but I am bursting at the seams with joy, and not necessarily about this recipe, but instead about life and I just have to share this with you all! So what has me so hunkydorty? Well I’ll tell you, two things have me ‘vibrating at a high frequency’ lately – excuse the uber hippie metaphor, but really that about sums up how I feel: Visualization exercises and the book ‘A Course in Miracales’.

I saw a video webcast from Jon Gabriel in which he offers a ‘trial’ visualization based on wellness, weight-loss and overall sucess. Although I meditate on a regular basis, I was amazed with the results of this. It truly does feel like you are communicating with your subconcious, on a higher level. I have been doing this for the past few days in the morning and my goal is to do it for a week and see what happens. I think the possibilities are endless, visualization can help you overcome nearly anything by placing little messages into your mind and body so that your concious mind no longer dwells on those issues and makes you doubt your abilities. Since I have my dissertation presentation coming up soon – July 4, I think I will start trying to do some visualizations of the presentation. We’ll see how it goes, and of course I will let you know, but I am super confident that it will help me to stay calm and rock it.

The second thing that has given me the greatest peace of mind and sense of tranquility has been ‘A Course in Miracles’. I feel that things don’t happen by coincidence and that instead things of this nature is the universe’s way of communicating with us. I came across this book by reading Kris Carr’s ‘Crazy Sexy Diet’, which lead me to read Gabriel Bernstein’s ‘Spirit Junkie’, which is based on ‘A Course in Miracles’. And so here I am just a month and a half in and I feel that the effects of this are limitless. I am doing the daily lessons, reading the text and trying to conciously apply what I am learning and I believe that this, along with visualizations, can produce permanent effects. I think we all get hung up on the idea that changes in ourselves are always temporary and that we can’t really change because sooner or later we will fall back into our old habits, but I strongly believet that this is in no way true. We are so much more capable than what we think, often times we create our our road blocks and detours – it is just a matter of believing in ourselves.

I am happy to share my spiritual journey and search for ‘something more’ with you and I hope you can share yours with me too. I would love to hear your stories, thoughts or ideas on this. Sharing ideas gives them power and strengthens them, thus we can all take this ride together and have fun learning from each other as we do it.

So on with the recipe you say! Without futher ado, here it is, something to look forward to in the morning . . cashew, coconut & banana parfaits 2 ways! The first is a classic: cereal, berries and a dash of cinnamon to finish it off; the second is a little more autumny, if it’s too heavy for the hot temperatures for you add less sweet potato and make it a micro portion 😉 this one is sweet potato with maple syrup and pumpkin pie spices with oeey gooey caramalized pecan.

PicsArt_1371206490153

Cashew, Coconut & Banana Yogurt
Ingredients
1 banana
1 c. cashews
1/2 c. coconut milk
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 spoonful stevia

Directions
1. Soak your cashews in hot water for at least 30 mins.
2. Blend all the ingredients together.

Classic Parfait
Ingredients
your favorite berries
your favorite cereal – (I only use cereal ‘au natural’)

Directions
Make layers alternating the cashew yogurt with berries and cereal – however you like! Top it off with a sprinkle of cinnamon (optional).

Sweet Potato with Maple Glazed Pecans
1 medium sweet potato
1 Tbs maple syrup
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

Maple Glazed Pecans
1/2 Tbs maple syrup
1/3 c. pecans

Directions
1. Steam or bake your potato. Blen it together with the other ingredients.
2. For the glazed pecans. Heat on low heat for about 4-5 minutes, being careful not to burn!

Assembly
Alternate layers of sweet potato and pecans with the cashew yogurt.

All that’s left to do now, is dig in!

Enjoy!
Buon Appetito!
AS

Leave a Reply

