Lunch Idea: Avocado + Peach + Mint Toast with Balsamic Vinegar Drizzle

toast3

It’s Wednesday again (my half-day at work), which means I am back with another quick lunch idea. As the temperatures rise to sweltering degrees here in Italy and as the date for my dissertation presentation creeps closer, I am looking for quicker and quicker light lunch ideas. Right now my life is like a 100 meter dash race, I rush home, hurry to get lunch ready and scarf it down in front of the computer as I try to get in the ‘study’ mindset, which really means checking out my favorite sites and allowing myself another 5 minutes, oh wait I just wanna finish reading this, oohhh now that’s interesting, I have to look at that and then I’ll start. . . and then half an hour after I was meant to start I reluctantly open up power point and start practicing my schpiel. This will be going on for another couple of weeks, and then freedom! Then it’s  .  . . pool season, trips to the beach, bike rides in the sun and just plain ol’ having fun in the summer sun with my son!

So for now I am going to fill my belly up on this refreshing and no-cook (with the exception of a little help from the toaster) recipe. This recipe/idea is fast, fun, versatile, and of course a great way to beat the heat on these hot summer days. The fresh mint is cooling, the creaminess of the avocado and the sweetness from the peach and balsamic vinegar are. . .  yes I know, a strange combination, but yet so good together. Top it all off with a bit of acidity and sweetness from the balsamic vinegar and it is like summer spread out on a whole wheat slice of bread. Yum!

toast

Ingredients

Avocado

Peach

Red onion

Mint

White pepper (or whatever you like best)

Salt

*Balsamic vinegar

*If you don’t have this, you could also try a bit of agave and fresh squeezed lime, not the same, but good nonetheless.

toast 2

Directions

Mash up your avocado, cut your peach into cubes and slice the onion thin. Chop up the mint, add a dash of salt and pepper and mix all together. I didn’t use a whole peach for this, instead I went with a little more than half. Spoon a good heaping slather on some toasted bread and drizzle a bit of balsamic vinegar on it. This is also good as a wrap!

Add ins:

chia seeds

hemp seeds

flax seeds . . . or whatever seeds you like

Buon Appetito!

Enjoy!

AS

Leave a Reply

