Vegan BLT

Image

Yeah that’s right, you read that right, a BLT that’s vegan, what?! But does it really taste like bacon? Hell yeah it does! But is it one of those super processed fake meats? Hell no it ain’t! 

I’m not gonna lie though, this is a bit indulgent, just not so much so like the real thing. Go ahead treat yourself and know that it isn’t too bad, you are still being compassionate and kind about your food, while ripping into some bad ass ‘facon’. 

Image

This bacon is amazingly similar to the real thing, minus the deadness and cholesterol. It is crunchy, a little spicy and a lot of scrumptiousness 😉 You can make a BLT out of it, like I did, or wrap it up in your favorite tortilla, throw it in a salad, top some potatoes with it, or just go with whatever whets your whistle (casseroles, grain salads, etc.). 

I had a friend over for dinner last night (who eats meat) and she was very pleasantly surprised. She said it really did taste like bacon. My husband had to go out to dinner with some clients was very disappointed to miss this, but he did manage to get a nibble in before heading out the door and he too was pretty amazed by the results – the taste, texture and look of it. I hope you will try this out too and be just as thrilled with the results as we all were! 

Image

Fakin’ the Bacon

Yield: about 16 oz.

Ingredients

1 1/4 c. vital wheat gluten

2/3 c. tomato puree 

2 tsp soy sauce

1 tsp blackstrap molasses 

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp coriander

1 tsp smoked paprika

1 tsp cayenne

1 tsp garlic powder

2 rehydrated ancho chilies

1 small onion

1 vegetable stock cube

 

Directions

1. Rehydrate your ancho chilies in hot water. In the meantime blend the onion with the tomato and all the other ingredients except the vital wheat gluten and water. Once the chilies are rehydrated, add those in and blend them too.

2. Mix in the wet ingredients in with the vital wheat gluten. Slowly add in a little bit of water at a time, mixing well (hands work best here) until you have used about 1/4 c. water. Shape into a square, or loaf works too, you just have to be able to slice it later. I wasn’t able to make a block as I had planned because I didn’t have a pan in that shape, so I molded with my hands and ended up with a loaf like shape, which worked fine. 

3. Bake in the oven at 400F for 30 minutes. Let cool and when you are ready to make your sandwiches, slice it very thinly. Heat a frying pan with a bit of oil in it, add in the strips of bacon and cook on each side until brown and crispy.

 

Assembly

The classic BLT is three layers, so toast three slices of bread and get to stackin’. Dress it up with whatever you like, avocado, vegan mayo, mustard, bbq sauce, etc.  Now chow down!

 

Questioning illusions is the first step to undoing them.

                                                                           (ACIM)

 

17 thoughts on “Vegan BLT

  1. Pingback: Sanity on a Plate | Chef Janet Rörschåch

  2. Now this – I can wrap my little jowls around and love every delicious bite. You are amazing!! It doesn’t look too hard to fix. I’m going to get mommy to fix me and her some! High hooves on a great job my friend! XOXO – Bacon

    • 😉 thanks. . . now you just have to try making it and let me know if you really did love every delicious bite of it!

      • will do! I think mom is going to attempt it this weekend – snorts – lucky me!! You know she’s going to have to give me a nibble. XOXO – Bacon

    • I am so thrilled you tried it! And I am even more thrilled to know that you loved it!!! So happy. . . thank you! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Burning love | The ex-sugarholic

  4. Pingback: Cheesey Mushroom Baked Potato Soup with Crunchy ‘Bacon’ & Chives | Vegan Adventures

Leave a Reply

