Braised Chinese Cabbage + Veggie Salad and Carrot Ginger Miso Dressing

Image

Wow that is a mouthful . . . and in every sense! I didn’t make it in time to sign up for Vegan MoFo but I am so pumped about it and want to try to post as many times as possible a week. So here goes post number 2 this week!

I have been wanting to make this dressing for a while now, but I can’t say I was feeling too saladspired before. But now that things are looking up and I am feeling good (finally!) I couldn’t wait to try this out.

This salad has probably made onto my top 10 list it really is that good. The mix of fresh green veggies just makes you feel like you are doing your body a favor. With every mouthful I felt like I was pampering my body and this baby, giving them all the best nutrients I can give. So I would say that this is really a feel good salad 🙂 

Image

Braised Chinese Cabbage Salad

Ingredients

1/2 head of chinese cabbage

broccoli

green beans

cashews

1/2 carrot

sesame seeds

 

Directions

1. I haven’t really put amounts here because I believe that that is really up to your discretion. For the cabbage slice it into quarters and make sure not to cut the bottom off – that’s the mistake I made and then it becomes war between your turning skills and keeping it together. Braise each side with a bit of sesame oil until each side is a bit browned. In the meantime boil/steam your broccoli and green beans. I added a couple spoonfuls from the boiling water to the cabbage at the very end, just to help it cook a little faster.

2. Arrange on a plate and toast the cashews with the sesame seeds.

 

Carrot Ginger Miso Dressing

Ingredients

1/2 carrot

1/4 in. ginger root

1/2 tsp miso

1 Tbs raisins

juice from 1/2 an orange

 

Directions

1. Blend everything together! 

*Add-ins: garlic, paprika, chilis, lemongrass, etc.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Braised Chinese Cabbage + Veggie Salad and Carrot Ginger Miso Dressing

  1. Pingback: BANANA GINGER CREAM SALAD DRESSING | ANIMAL-FREE CHEF!

  2. Pingback: October, 2003. Sesame-Ginger Dipping Sauce for Noodles, A Great Recipe from The Archives | Heat in the Kitchen

  3. Pingback: Carote speziate con sesamo e cannella [Cinnamon and sesame carrots] | {LaCaccavella}

  4. Pingback: Avocado-Tomato salad with Miso dressing (vegan) | Superfoodista

Leave a Reply

