Vegan MoFo 4: Cozy Country Pie

pie

Here we go again with another post this week! I am catching up on all that I missed by having internet down and this time I have a nice comforting pie for you, as you must know that by now pie and soup season are in full swing over here, at least in this American’s kitchen in Italy. It is everything I love about a pie; it fills you up, warms you up and just makes you feel all good and cozy inside. So I would say that this one fits the bill and of course it is so satisfying on a nippy fall evening. So get warm and snuggle up to this cozy country pie with carrots, potatoes and mushrooms.

Cozy Country Pie
Ingredients
1 carrot, finely chopped
1 celery stalk, finely chopped
1/2 onion, finely chopped
1 medium potato, diced
about 15 button mushrooms, sliced
1/2 c. soy milk
1 tsp cornstarch
1/2 vegetable stock cube
1/2 Tbs mixed herbs/spices (I used marjoram, thyme and cumin)
water
1-2 store bought vegan pie doughs (depending on how you want to make it, half moons, or pies. I made my own but I was not happy with the results, it broke too easily when rolled out, but did taste good)

Directions
Add the carrot, celery and onion to a frying pan with a little bit of olive oil. Saute until the onion starts to turn transparent. Mix in the potatoes and pour in a bit of water, just enough to steam the veggies, and cover (I don’t like to use too much oil which is why I use this method often). Once the potatoes and carrots are almost done go ahead and stir in your mushrooms. Pour in the milk, along with the rest of the ingredients, make sure to keep the cornstarch from clumping by using a whisk or fork to mix it in well. Go with whatever herbs or spices you have on hand or that float your boat. I didn’t have anything fresh so I went with what I had, but rosemary, oregano, garlic and even tarragon would be great in this.

Once the mixture is cooked, potatoes and carrots are soft, spoon them into you pie crust lined pie pans or make little half moons out of them. I made little individual servings but you can always go for a big family size pie.

Bake in the oven at about 350 for 20 minutes, or until the crust is golden brown.

Projection makes perception . . .
(ACIM)

2 thoughts on “Vegan MoFo 4: Cozy Country Pie

    • Thanks! That is so amazing! I wish I knew more about all of these blogger awards going around to nominate others for them since there are so awesome many bloggers out there that deserve recognition! Once again thanks and take care!

Leave a Reply

