Vegan MoFo 2: Mishaps and Misadventures all without Internet + Fried Zucchini Flower Quesadillas with Ancho Chili Cashew Sauce

quesadillas

I’ve been condemned to the house and ordered to rest and lie down as much as possible . . . right with a two year old that really works, and if it did even a little bit it certainly does no favors for my or his sanity. I guess I got a little too ambitious when I got bit by the shopping bug and overdid it just a tad (10 miles walking the exhibition halls from morning to evening will do it) which landed me in the ER in Cologne. Thank God everyone in Germany speaks English, and when they tell you ‘not much’ don’t believe them, they still speak it better than your average Italian. 

I went on my yearly trip with my husband to an exhibition show he always shows at in Cologne for all things outdoors- gardening, furniture, equestrianism, and the list goes on. For someone working on a new house it is an outdoor decorating bonanza – enough to overstimulate the senses and send you in a tizzy of excitement, and well I guess that’s just what happened to me. I was on a mission to get an outdoor furniture set for the balcony plus a table and any other amazing bargain or shiny find I could get my hands on. Mission accomplished! . . . more or less, I’m still a little sour about it being cut short and not getting the wine barrel bar – see what shopping can do to the mind, it makes you me completely irrational. 

So after a quick stop off at the hospital , nerves on edge, we were happy to find out that all was okay with mom and baby. I just have to rest for a few days and lay down as much as possible. So that means no long bouts in the kitchen, only quickies. Which I have to say, if I am to be confined to the four walls of my house, at least let them be the kitchen, and let me cook should I not turn into a nagging and hormonally emotional prego . . and what’s worse we have no internet! AAAhhh the dramas of life! 

Things are on the up and up though, I am feeling better, and internet is finally fixed after a week of being cut off from the world. I am happy to say that I can now share with you all the awesome things I’ve been making.

I’ve got a barrel full of ideas and recipes I’ve been working on so stay tuned to see what else will be popping up from over here in my kitchen.But before we get down to business I have to give a warm thank you to Caroline over at the exsugarholic.wordpress.com for nominating me for the WordPress family award. I appreciate all the comments and blog lovin’ I receive from you all!

So enough about my mishap in Germany, let’s get down to cookin’. . . which is just what the doctor ordered (for my sanity hormones)! 

flowers

Fried Zucchini Flower Quesadillas
Ingredients
Fried Zucchini Flowers
10 zucchini flowers
oil for frying
salt
cayenne or chipotle

Zucchini Filling
5 baby zucchini or 1-2 regular zucchini
1 Tbs mole
2-3 Tbs water
salt to taste
fresh chilies (optional)

Directions

zucchini in pan

Grate the zucchini and in the meantime melt the mole with a couple of tablespoons of water. Add in the zucchini and season (add in any fresh chilies now if you like). Cook until slightly browned (about 8 minutes).

Next heat the frying oil in a pot or wok, I didn’t use too much oil, just enough to cover them slightly. Once the oil is hot (you can test it by dropping some water in and if it crackles it’s ready) drop the flowers in. Salt and sprinkle on the chipotle powder. Fry on each side for about 3 minutes, turning when golden brown.

Assemble the quesadillas with the grated zucchini then topping it off with the flowers.

Ancho Chile Cashew Sauce
Ingredients
1 cup cashews
1-2 ancho chilies

salt to taste
1 Tbs lemon juice
1 tsp tamarind sauce

Directions
Soak the cashews along with the dried chilies in hot water for at least 30 minutes.

Once the cashews are nice and soft remove them from the water (keep this water) and blend with all the other ingredients. Add in water as needed to make it smooth.

Alone we are all lowly, but together we shine with brightness so intense that non e of us alone can even think of it.
(A Course In Miracles)

Leave a Reply

