Vitamix Party in Full Swing: Carrot Cake Smoothie

Image

 

As I am well attuned to the fact that I have been babbling on and on about my new Vitamix I’m sure you knew it wasn’t going to stop there and that these ramblings have yet to be over anytime soon,- hey I just got the most awesome and extravagant kitchen toy a vegan cook could ever want! So I have brought none other than a decadent dessert-like, but good for you, smoothie. 

I am really trying to avoid desserts and added sugars so of course my mind is constantly reeling and trying to come up with a way to get my sugar fix without really cheating . . . hhmm, now that is a tough one since cakes, cookies and muffins are out (all my favorite things ). And in comes the foolproof healthy dessert craving answer – a smoothie of course! They can be nutritious and deceivingly naughty – but actually nice on the good for you scale and for a mom they have one more to boot as they are a yummy way to sneak veggies into something that your kids will actually eat. 

So although the weather is turning crisp and cold and the holidays will soon be upon us, I will be braving the storm with smoothies and trying my best to avoid desserts. But let me tell you why at least: as you all know by now I am preggers and of course trying to eat as healthy as possible for me and the baby, all the while trying not to gain too much weight as I am haunted by how uncomfortable I felt towards the end of the first pregnancy and how hard I had to work to get the weight off. And as I know that my diet downfall is always sweets, I know that if I can keep this in check then I should be good to go. But I can’t tell you what a punishment this feels like though, I am craving baking them more than I am actually eating them, which is a very good thing I suppose! Smoothies also fit the bill for my other current diet goal after reading about Mimi Kirk, which is to increase the amount of raw foods I eat, so once again smoothies (and juices) are a perfect answer to this too! 

 

Enough jibber jabber already! Let’s get down to making this sugar fix smoothie! 

Image

 

Carrot Cake Smoothie

Servings: 3-4

Ingredients

2- 2 1/2 large carrots 

1 cup fresh pineapple chunks

handful of cashews

2 Tbs coconut flakes

1 Tbs each superfoods: chia seeds, hemp seeds and goji berries*

1 Tbs dehydrated coconut water**

1 heaping scoop vanilla flavored vegan protein powder (1 serving size according to package)***

1/4 cup raisins

1/3 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp ginger

dash of cloves

1 cup non-dairy milk (I used rice)

1/2 cup water

about 2 cups ice 

 

*Add in whatever seeds or other superfoods you have on hand or like best, even some greens.

** If using coconut water this can replace the liquid ingredients in part or all, however you prefer. 

*** I used one heaping scoop of Vega vanilla almond protein powder – 1 serving is one scoop. Go with whatever vanilla flavored protein powder you have on hand or if you don’t have any then add in 1-2 teaspoons of vanilla.

 

Blend all together in a high powered blender. Serve and enjoy! 

But wait! Before you go off making this super yummy smoothie I would like to know what your plans are to stay on track and beat the usual pounds packed on from hibernation inducing weather, endless social gatherings and rivers of food flowing through every family, work and social function, and well, really any other occasion I may have missed that offers up an extra opportunity to warm up and stuff up our pie holes on these brisk days!

 

Okay, now that you have answered, you are free to go indulge . . .  and not feel guilty about it this time because it is good for you! 

 

6 thoughts on “Vitamix Party in Full Swing: Carrot Cake Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Great Smoothies From Your Smoothie Maker | Best Blender Juicers

  2. Pingback: Make Homemade Smoothies With A Smoothies Maker | Best Blender Juicers

  3. Ooooer carrot and pineapple! What a lovely flavour combination 😀 I’m going to keep this one handy for when I see family at Christmas, I think my mum would love this smoothie as she adores anything with pineapple 🙂
    Thanks for sharing this at Smoothie OTW, I’ll let you know how the recipe goes!

  4. Pingback: Smoothie OTW Link-Up (Week 6) | Om Nom Ally

Leave a Reply

