2 Savory Muffins: Potato Leek & Rosemary Muffins and Pumpkin and Sage Muffins

Image

 

Savory muffins, what!? You can’t do that, you say! Muffins aren’t supposed to be savory, they’re supposed to be sweet! Well, I’m breaking the rules here, because I do what I want, I’m American! This is what I say to my husband when he questions my cooking decisions, especially on American dishes 🙂

I have to admit though that I have always been against savory muffins as they tend to bring to mind Italian cooking shows that try to do American ‘desserts’, like muffins, but savory with pancetta and cheese – and of course when I see that I’m the one saying, ‘you can’t do that!’ ‘that’s not American!’ ‘muffins aren’t supposed to be savory – they’re sweet, period!!’. And now the tables have turned and I am the one breaking these so called rules. I guess you could say I am an American rebel in Italy ;).

This transgression came about as a way to feed my need to bake absolutely anything, but after eating and making a million desserts this past weekend for my son’s birthday, I knew I had to make something without sugar – so much for my no sugar diet! With all the birthday leftovers in the house I have not been doing too well, and as boredom has set in lately I’ve been keeping my mouth a little too busy to contrast the moments of monotony. I guess it’s time to reboot . . . once again.

So for all of you that want to be bad and transgressive with me, come make these awesome savory muffins with me! They are great in the morning for a change from the usual sweet breakfast, and even better with soup. These rustic little beauties would also be a fabulous addition to your Thanksgiving spread 😉 Let’s bring out the rebel baker in you and get to churnin’ out some savory muffins!

 

Potato Leek & Rosemary Muffins
potato muf 

Yield: 6 muffins

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

2 tsp leavening agent*

2 tsp salt

1 Tbs flax seed + 3 Tbs water (flax egg)

1 cup non-dairy milk

2 Tbs olive oil

16 ounces diced potatoes

1 full leek, chopped

1 sprig rosemary, 1 1/2 Tbs

*baking powder and baking soda are not sold separately here, instead leavening agent is always sold in packets for either sweet or savory baking. 

Directions

1. Toss the diced potatoes with some salt and pepper and bake in oven at about 300 degrees until fork tender.

2. In the meantime cut up the leek and finely chop the rosemary. Saute the leek with a bit of olive oil and salt on medium heat for about 3 minutes, add in the rosemary and cooked potatoes. Saute all together for another 2-3 minutes

3. Make flax egg and set to side for at least 5 minutes. 

4. Add the potato mixture to a bowl with all the dry ingredients combined. 

5. Add in wet ingredients (along with flax egg) to dry ones and stir well until thoroughly mixed.

6. Pop in the oven for about 25 minutes at 375°.

 

Pumpkin & Sage Muffins
pump muf

Yield: 6 muffins

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1 1/2 tsp leavening agent

2 tsp salt

5 sage leaves, finely chopped

1 flax egg (see above)

3 Tbs vegan butter

3/4 cup non-dairy milk

1 cup pumpkin

*optional: couple dashes of nutmeg

 

Directions

1. Combine dry ingredients then add in wet ingredients. Mix well together and that’s it!

2. Stick those babies in the oven at 375° as well and leave to bake for about 30 minutes. If you want you can even top them off with a dash of nutmeg or sea salt. Easy peasy!

 

And to leave you with a little vegan inspiration is Brendan Brazier, who I personally find very inspiring!
64307d08a26879f002f11352a8ca97ad

2 thoughts on “2 Savory Muffins: Potato Leek & Rosemary Muffins and Pumpkin and Sage Muffins

Leave a Reply

