Winter Breakfast Sunrise Smoothie

sunrise smoothie 1

This is an upside down sunrise I realize, but hey, the winter can have that effect sometimes and so can my two-year-old son who is now in a temper-tantrum-throwing and seemingly attention-starved phase. Life is a little stressful now, crazy monster toddler on the loose and one soon to make his debut in a couple of months . . . with the husband out of the country two weeks before he’s due. Did I say I’m a little stressed! I think I need a smoothie for this to take the edge off, forget Jack and Coke, those days are long gone, for now it is an upside down winter breakfast smoothie for me and some good reading. I am clutching onto Marianne Williamson’s A Return to Love for dear life now, since I certainly need all the positivity and spirituality I can get in my life right now. So to make myself feel a little better, calm my nerves and blow the winter blues away I am just going to sip on this refreshing and warming smoothie.sunrise smoothie 3 

If the holidays have you frazzled too, then sip with me, but if you are stress free now, then I’m sure I can win you over on this one as it is a nutrient power house. It is packed with so many ingredients that it is bound to pack an even bigger punch in nutrients, which  will certainly warm those winter chills and energize you if the holidays, monster children and dark frigid days that fill the months ahead have you scattered. The persimmon provides you with antioxidants like vitamins A, C and K along with a slew of phytonutrients and fiber to keep you steaming ahead. The sweet potato gives it a wonderfully creamy, filling and sweet taste, while also giving your cardiovascular health a boost, giving you an even bigger kick in the calcium department and like all orange veggies, it packs a sweet vitamin A punch. And the list goes on with superfoods like pomegranate juice, red pepper and strawberries.sunrise smoothie 2

We all need a bit of TLC at this time of the year, so let’s give our minds and bodies a break and sip on some sweet Winter Breakfast (upside down) Sunrise Smoothie.  

sunrise smoothie ingredients

 

Winter Breakfast Sunrise Smoothie

Servings: 1-2

Ingredients:

For the red part

1 banana

5 strawberries

juice of half a pomegranate 

a slice of red pepper (1/4 of the pepper)

1 cup of ice

 

For the orange part

1/2 cup sweet potato

1 orange

1/2 persimmon

*optional: ice

 

Blend and sip. You can always mix them, but the two-color effect is nice 😉

 

And once again to leave you with some healthy holiday cheer!

 

 

f158120018ed42f0b5d009495d967573

10 thoughts on “Winter Breakfast Sunrise Smoothie

  1. Yap, I’m feeling a little frazzled! We seriously can’t be a week away from the big day?! Thank you for the lovely drink recipe. I love its name…so calming. I will definitely be making this!

  2. Pingback: Smoothie OTW Link-Up (Week 7) | Om Nom Ally

Leave a Reply

