New Year’s Resolutions: Moving Towards . . . the Present

I have been wanting to write other types of posts for some time, and not just share recipes as I feel that I have so much more that I would love to share with you all. I truly hope that you enjoy reading something a little out of the ordinary, that it contributes to your day in some positive way and that of course you feel enthusiastic enough to share your comments as well. So in spirit of the New Year and the holiday season I am sharing these thoughts with you . . . 

What is the all the hoopla with New Year’s resolutions? Why must we all have resolutions? And do they really count? And just as a pretense I must ask that you forgive my Debbie Downer attitude but I honestly find them to be an unlasting and unfelt cop out to deal with real issues in a person’s life that are just as easily forgotten as the holidays are when February comes around. So why do we make them if we know that we can’t keep them and if we know that we will dedicate little if any effort to working on them?

I believe that as a society we are very attached to time; keeping it, not wasting it, counting it, making the most of it, killing it, marking it and sectioning it off just as a butcher would an animal – all very unnatural and not beneficial to any parties involved. This obsession with time leads us to reflect on the time that has passed as a so called new time begins and we thus must try to fix what went wrong with the old time so as to prevent it from happening again in the new time. But is this really useful? I would say no as always looking to the past or the future prevents us from living in the moment. Sages and metaphysicians emphasize that a satisfying life is lived by being present in the moment, and not dwelling in the past, nor projecting in the future. I think they may have just hit the nail on the head here! 

This is not to say that we should never think of the past, as it is what has led us to this point, good or bad. And of course we should not censor any thoughts of the future because we cannot simply stumble through life, and nor should we live hedonistically in the present because the past nor the future matter. Instead, this is a shift in perception. A different way of looking at things. A way of saying that I am going to make the most of this moment because it counts just as much as the next or any other date circled on the calendar. The present is a constant gift to start anew.

So where do I stand in terms of my New Year’s resolution? Well, despite the fact that Italians do not have this tradition, my husband has been hounding me about it as I have yet to come up with one, and needless to say my response that every day is a resolution to become a better me has not sufficed. Therefore I dedicate this resolution and post to my husband, the Americanized Italian (from is Italianized American wife), with a belated resolution to live more in the moment, to no longer sip on the joys of life but instead to take gulps – whether they be sweet, sour or bitter, all by your side (plus two) amore. 

4 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions: Moving Towards . . . the Present

    • I think those are always good ones, and difficult to follow through on. Self-improvement of any kind is always a step in a positive direction and even when we think that being positive is harder than being negative, it really uses so much more energy to be negative, unhappy and angry all the time, whether it be at the world or ourselves. I say bring on the self-love for 2014!!

Leave a Reply

