Roasted Potato, Tofu & Asparagus with Creamy Thyme Lemon Sauce

asparagus 4

If I were Jamie Oliver this would be on a cutting board. But I’m not, which also leads to why my rice was mushy, because Jamie told me that the rule of thumb was thirds, 1 part rice, 2 parts water. Why didn’t I stop myself on this dumb idea and realize that the ‘one finger’ rule has always worked for me and that instead I don’t need Jamie Oliver to tell me how to make rice. I don’t mean to knock Jamie too much here, I do love the little lisp-talking, (annoyingly) unorganized, cutting-board-loving, back-to-basics chef.

asparagus 1

Enough about Jamie though, this is about my awesome roasted potato, tofu and asparagus with creamy thyme lemon sauce. . oh yeah, and you, since you are reading this and perhaps even considering making it, if I haven’t completely offended you already by my snarky Jamie comment. I kid! If I didn’t have readers then this would all be completely pointless!

asparagus 2

On with the recipe! What is there to say? Maybe, it rocks will suffice. I’ve said enough already (and I should just proceed with the recipe and put a sock in it by now). However, on a side note I would like to tell you a bit about the name change of my blog as you may have noticed it and wondered, what the hey! that’s not as I remembered it!

I was never completely happy with the name as I knew that there was another blog out there with the same name and I didn’t feel like it fully reflected what I and this blog is about. I am an American ex-pat living in Italy, which I felt the name should reflect, ergo ‘viva’ in Italian and ‘veg’ in English. I also wanted a name that showed how ‘frizzante’ I am as a person (frizzante means fizzy or sparkling, as in water, or in English it could be translated as spunky). I am light-hearted, I don’t like to take myself, or life for that matter, too seriously. I don’t see things in black and white, which is also why I wanted to stray away from ‘vegan’ in the title as I am not 100% vegan. I am at home, but when I go out, in Italy, it is very difficult to be 100% vegan, and I am okay with that. I don’t believe that food should be a punishment or make you feel imprisoned by your choices, but should instead be an act of kindness and love to ourselves, and if that means compromising every now and then to stay happy and not beat ourselves up about our choices or any ‘short-comings’, then I think that that is just fine. So to sum up, these are the ideas I was going for with the name change.

asparagus 3

Roasted Potatoes, Tofu and Asparagus
Servings: 2
Ingredients
2 medium potatoes
1 block tofu
asparagus
1 medium red onion
seasoned salt
olive oil

Directions
1. Dice potatoes, slice onions, cube tofu and slice asparagus
2. Put everything in a baking pan except the asparagus. Drizzle with olive oil and season with salt (I got mine in Tuscany, you can it everywhere here, it has pepper, fennel and some other spices in it)
3. Bake at about 325 until potatoes are almost fork tender, then toss in the asparagus and drizzle a little more olive oil over it and season with salt. Bake for another 10 minutes or so.

Creamy Thyme Lemon Sauce
Ingredients
soy yogurt
1 tsp mustard
1 tsp maple syrup
salt and pepper to taste
2 sprigs fresh thyme
juice of half a lemon
zest of half a lemon

Directions
1. Blend all ingredients together

Toss everything together and enjoy! If you want to make it into a more filling sort of meal you can always toss in some of your favorite grain or rice.

2 thoughts on “Roasted Potato, Tofu & Asparagus with Creamy Thyme Lemon Sauce

Leave a Reply

